Dr. G. Kumar Venayagamoorthy

Dr. Kumar Venayagamoorthy

Ganesh Kumar Venayagamoorthy received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Natal, Durban, South Africa, in Feb. 2002. Currently, he is an Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and the founder and the Director of the Real-Time Power and Intelligent Systems (RTPIS) Laboratory at Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T). He was a Visiting Researcher with ABB Corporate Research, Sweden, in 2007. His research interests are in the development and applications of advanced computational algorithms for real-world applications, including power systems stability and control, smart grid applications, sensor networks and signal processing. He has published 2 edited books, 5 book chapters, and over 80 refereed journals papers and 270 refereed conference proceeding papers. He has been involved in approximately US$ 7 million of competitive research funding.

Dr. Venayagamoorthy is a recipient of several awards including a 2007 US Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program Award, a 2004 NSF CAREER Award, the 2010 Innovation Award from St. Louis Academy of Science, the 2010 IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Member Award, the 2008 IEEE St. Louis Section Outstanding Educator Award, the 2006 IEEE Power Engineering Society Walter Fee Outstanding Young Engineer Award, the 2005 IEEE Industry Applications Society (IAS) Outstanding Young Member Award, the 2005 SAIEE (South Africa) Young Achievers Award, the 2003 International Neural Network Society Young Investigator Award, a 2007 Missouri S&T Teaching Commendation Award, a 2006 Missouri S&T School of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award, a 2008, 2007 and 2005 Missouri S&T Faculty Excellence Award and a 2009 Missouri S&T Faculty Research Award.

Dr. Venayagamoorthy has been involved in the leadership and organization of many conferences including the Chair of the 2011 IEEE Symposium of Computational Intelligence Applications in Smart Grid (CIASG), General Chair of the 2008 IEEE Swarm Intelligence Symposium (St. Louis, USA), the Program Chair of 2009 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (Atlanta, USA), the Technical Program Co-Chair of the 2003 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (Portland, USA), the Chair of the 2007 Symposium on Computational Intelligence in Sensor Networks (Melbourne, Australia) and the Program Co-Chair of the 2004 International Conference on Sensors, Sensor Networks and Information Processing (Chennai, India). He is currently the Chair of the IEEE Power Engineering Society (PES) Working Group on Intelligent Control Systems, the Chair of IEEE Computational Intelligence Society (CIS) Task Force on Smart Grid, the Vice Chair of the IEEE PES Intelligent Systems Subcommittee, Chair of the IEEE PES Students Subcommittee and the Chapter Chairs of IEEE CIS and IEEE Industry Applications Society St. Louis Chapters. He was an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks from 2004 to 2007 and for the IEEE Transactions on Measurements and Instrumentation in 2007. He is currently an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions of Evolutionary Computation and an Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid.

Dr. Venayagamoorthy is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), UK, and the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers. He is a Senior Member of the IEEE and the International Neural Network Society (INNS), and a Member of the American Society for Engineering Education. He is member of Board of Governors of INNS.